Layers of Airspace

Layers of Airspace

So let's cover how the sky is divvied up. There are five categories of controlled airspace plus one that's uncontrolled. The amount of control, as you can imagine, depends on how busy the airspace typically is. For example, dozens of aircraft are trying to land at any given moment at Los Angeles International or other large airports. That's very busy and everyone must be in contact with air traffic control to make it work smoothly and safely.

The categories of airspace over the United States are:

  • Class A
  • Class B
  • Class C
  • Class D
  • Class E
  • Class G

Class F isn't used in the United States.

Categories of airspace over the U.S.